The Most Beautiful Bookstores in the World

1 Feb


I love books! Where can you find the most books? In bookstores (or libraries), hence bookstores are my favorite kind of store. I can literally sit there for hours maybe reading a book, drinking a cup of coffee, looking for new books and then read some more.

I´m going to show you pictures of the most beautiful bookstores in the world! and believe me they are AMAZING! The details, interior and the architecture of the buildings are to DIE for! Visiting many of them are definitely on my bucket list!

“A gorgeous converted Dominican church gives the power of reading its due diligence. Selexyz Bookstore, Maastricht, Holland.


“Modern design at its finest in a store full of art books The Bookàbar Bookshop, Rome, Italy


” This divine neo-gothic bookstore, opened in 1906, contains what we consider to be the ultimate definition of a stairway to heaven. Livraria Lello, Porto, Portugal”

“This majestic converted 1920s movie palace uses theatre boxes for reading rooms and draws thousands of tourists every year. Librería El Ateneo Grand Splendid, Buenos Aires, Argentina”
The quotes are from Flavorwire.com  You can also find other amazing bookstores there!
Maggie ❤
37 Responses to “The Most Beautiful Bookstores in the World”

  1. masqueradefridays February 1, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

    Oh wow, what amazing architecture! I could not keep my eyes on the book if I would ever be lucky enough to visit any of them!

  2. Midnight Travellers Art February 1, 2012 at 10:36 pm #

    WOW! I could get lost in those Libraries! Thank you for sharing!

  3. simonreadbooks February 1, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

    Whoa . . . I want that place to be my local bookstore! Stunning!

  4. Angela February 1, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

    If I went to any of these places, it is doubtful whether I would ever be seen or heard from again…..literary armchair travel at its best! Thank you for that! I will link to this entry in an upcoming post on my writing blog.

    • TheLittleDesignStall February 1, 2012 at 10:51 pm #

      I know, how could anyone ever leave! I´m definitely saving money so I can travel to see the store in Holland this year. It´s my favorite! 🙂

  5. Bron February 1, 2012 at 11:25 pm #

    Wow, the ones from The Netherlands and Argentina are particularly spectacular. I’ve been to the one in Porto! Apparently it was one of the places that inspired JK Rowling and the grand staircases in Harry Potter.

  6. Kristen Pinkham February 2, 2012 at 12:19 am #

    There’s nothing better than a great book store. I could spend hours/days in these ones.

  7. OH!PEN February 2, 2012 at 12:47 am #

    If you love books, we are sure you love Erri De Luca’s books…CIAO!

  8. Lucianus Mauricius February 2, 2012 at 7:22 pm #

    Thank you for sharing this post. Truly what you have shown here is for lack of better words fabulous. I love architecture and I love books, and visiting one of the places shown above would be almost a religious experience for me, if I were a follower of any religion that is. Thanks again for sharing this post. Lucianus

    • TheLittleDesignStall February 4, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

      I know! It definitely would be a religious experience for me to. Thank you for the nice comment 🙂

  9. Roberta Cucchiaro February 2, 2012 at 11:15 pm #

    OH!!! AMAZING!!! I didn’t know about this! And you have such a cool blog!!!!

  10. ablatwork February 3, 2012 at 5:06 am #

    WOW!!!

  11. arkenaten February 3, 2012 at 8:28 am #

    Been to the one in Porto, in 2004.
    Quite something.
    Thanks for the vist.
    The Ark

  12. babso2you February 3, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

    Wow! Amazing!

  13. pmpatricia February 4, 2012 at 12:49 am #

    I LOVE a good bookstore! The Kindle can never replace the thrill of opening a book for the first time.

    • TheLittleDesignStall February 4, 2012 at 2:33 pm #

      But a kindle is much more practical!! I travel a lot on airplanes since i´m studying abroad and I hate the fact that my books occupy so much space and weight of my luggage. So I do envy your kindle, even though I love books 😉

  14. philebersole February 4, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

    Reblogged this on Phil Ebersole's Blog.

  15. The Wandering Mind February 4, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

    I am in awe, and to think I was just about to go to Chapters or the library. I actually squeeled for joy upon seeing some of these marvelous places.

    Cool!

    • TheLittleDesignStall February 4, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

      For me a trip to the local bookstore will never be the same after seeing these pictures! I´m glad you liked it 🙂

  16. phelpsfrog February 5, 2012 at 2:03 am #

    Amazing!
    I think my favourite one is the bookstore in Portugal! So amazing and poetically beautiful!

  17. eremophila February 5, 2012 at 12:58 pm #

    Reblogged this on Eremophila’s Musings and commented:
    Bringing together two of my loves – architecture and books!

  18. kissmyfrog February 5, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    Holy cow! How does anyone buy books in those places? I’d be wandering around, too gobsmacked by the beauty of the building to focus on books!

    Thanks for the “like” on my blog. You have a good beginning here, I hope you keep finding new pretties to show us. 🙂

  19. xowiebrandt February 5, 2012 at 1:19 pm #

    I would lose days and days and days in these!

  20. Carola February 5, 2012 at 7:34 pm #

    Thank you for sharing, amazing!

  21. nataliazen February 5, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

    Wow! I truly HEART bookstores!!! You can lock me in for days! Love your blog btw, great inspirational stuff!

  22. rkpowersrkpowers February 5, 2012 at 11:15 pm #

    I want to go!!!! Thanks for the like.
    Nice photos, too. Did you take those?

  23. Joni February 6, 2012 at 3:29 am #

    I love libraries also…big or small. I hope we keep them!

  24. Joni February 6, 2012 at 3:30 am #

    Also, good to have you visit & “like’ my post!

  25. readytochangenow February 6, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

    Oh my goodness, I could just move into all of them and die happy.

  26. Cris February 24, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

    Who would have thunk it? Wow. No bookstores or libraries around any place I’ve ever lived, at least as an adult, so to speak. 🙂

  27. Christina February 25, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

    I LOVE that bookstore in Portugal. I used to go the Reading Room of the New York City Public Library’s main branch to do research. It has exquisite woodwork like in that bookstore. Thanks for stopping by my blog and “liking” it. I find the encouragement of other bloggers touches me and makes me want to keep going. Your images are a breath of fresh air.

  28. niasunset February 27, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

    I can die for to be in one of them… What amazing libraries… But it would take time to watch them and then I can read book… 🙂 Thank you for visiting my blog, I am glad to meet with you and with your blog. With my love, nia

  29. themofman March 24, 2012 at 11:26 pm #

    Look at those vaulted ceilings!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Some of the world’s most beautiful bookstores « Phil Ebersole's Blog - February 4, 2012

    […] tip to The Little Design Stall. Share this:PrintMoreTwitterRedditStumbleUponDiggFacebookEmailLinkedInLike this:LikeBe the first to […]

  2. 20 AMAZING Book Stores « Jesse Gordon—the geek, that is - February 29, 2012

    […] (Via The Little Design Stall.) […]

  3. The Reading Room « Persephone Writes - May 24, 2012

    […] The Most Beautiful Bookstores in the World, The Little Design Stall […]

Leave a Reply

