Do you want to go camping with me?

5 Feb

Am I the only one that wants to stay here? Just for one night?

The rolling huts (yeah, you read right) in Mazama, Washington, USA were created in an old caravan park bought by a local guy so he could have som extra space for house visiting friends and family!

“The Rolling Huts are several steps above camping, while remaining low-tech and low-impact in their design. The huts sit lightly on the site, a flood plain meadow in an alpine river valley.” Read and see more pictures here!

The architects behind these rolling huts are Olson Kundig Architects.

Maggie ❤
15 Responses to “Do you want to go camping with me?”

  1. cocomino February 5, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

    Really cool and nice architecture. 🙂

  2. Female Healthcare (@Incostress) February 5, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

    amazing. What a privelage to be able to camp in a place like this.

  3. xlalalalisax February 5, 2012 at 2:18 pm #

    That looks surprisingly homely!! Thanks for sharing!
    And thank you for dropping by my blog 🙂 x

  4. Palette February 5, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

    They look amazing and even seem cozy inside. I bet they have a nice view during twilight hours.

  5. lorenzemlicka February 5, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

    These are for camping?
    I want to live in one!

  6. cubbyholes February 5, 2012 at 5:11 pm #

    Interesting to be sure, but definitely not for me. Too spartan. Cool to see, but then off to the cabin in the mountains I go. 🙂

  7. Four Blue Hills February 5, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

    Amazing “rolling huts”. I would like one too!

  8. Dining With Dignity February 5, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

    Dear Little Design Stall,

    Thank you for reading my recent blog update and thank you for sharing pictures and information about rolling huts. If you really want to try a great “primal” camping experience try eating exclusively cashews for two weeks. They will provide you with all the nutrition you need to keep going and you may never go back to eating other foods when you return from your journey.

  9. Fergiemoto February 6, 2012 at 12:11 am #

    Looks pretty cool!

  10. Baddaci February 6, 2012 at 1:31 am #

    WOw… I have to get there somehow.

  11. squirrel circus February 6, 2012 at 1:34 am #

    I’ve never seen anything LIKE it. I love those! What a great place to go “glamping”!

  12. Bosartis February 6, 2012 at 1:37 am #

    Seems to me that modern these days mean either minimalism or an agoraphobic nightmare! A bit like these huts and then the other hut that’s supposed to be a bedroom in the wilderness beside a lake!
    I have to confess to being an old traditionalist – Give me a Victorian mansion in 40 acres with solid walls and nice dark wood paneled rooms and I feel relaxed, private and secure.
    Nice to see the stuff on your site, which is cool by the way – but absolutely NOT for me!
    Also many thanks for visiting my blog – appreciated.

  13. TheLushNest February 6, 2012 at 3:26 am #

    Thanks for checking out my blog today. I love these little huts! I live in WA and will definitely check into these for future camping trips. It beats an old fashioned tent for sure!

  14. Lucianus Mauricius February 7, 2012 at 6:28 am #

    It’s a great idea of a design, innovative, yet since I’m a cancer I’m weary and uncomfortable around large open living spaces, I guess I feel exposed and defenseless. I would prefer a home with a bit more color to it and more furniture. Bottom line, great design, use of space and natural light, great scenery….

  15. niasunset February 27, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

    Fascinated me. Thank you, with my love, nia

Leave a Reply

