A Deeper Look at the Nautilus – The Snail Shell Dwelling

22 Feb

This is the Nautilus! A couple in Naucalpan, Mexico decided that they wanted an unconventional home. So they hired the designer Javier Senosiain’s  and Senosiain Arquitectos to draw a unique, snail-shell shaped house. The house is an amazing combination of colors and shapes. It´s a  work of mind bending architecture and art.

The designer calls the place a sparkling example of  “Bio-Architecture”. “The building is based on the natural principles of organic forms bring us back to local history, tradition and cultural roots, in turn creating harmony with nature.”

Quotes and the pictures are from Inhabitat and Spotcoolstuff.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Maggie ❤

18 Responses to “A Deeper Look at the Nautilus – The Snail Shell Dwelling”

  1. Brett Waller February 22, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

    I wish there was reference for the size of this house.

    • TheLittleDesignStall February 22, 2012 at 7:20 pm #

      I know, I could not find it anywhere! But I added an overview picture of the house as a whole.. Maggie

  2. RobinWeertsPhotography February 22, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

    This is really cool….I want one!

  3. boomerontario February 22, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

    I’m so glad you stopped by my Sketches & Jottings blog. This is a glorious post!!

  4. jrphotographybelgium February 22, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

    Wonderful!!!! Made me smile quite a bit! :o)

  5. viveka February 22, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    Sorry, I think it’s terrible – nothing wrong with the post .. but the house is totally wrong for me. Saying that – I love the stained window at the entrance side – very beautiful. We can’t love everything we see.

    • TheLittleDesignStall February 22, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

      No, you are completely right we can´t love everything. I think the house is amazingly weird, but I could never live there 😉

  6. chebandbecky February 22, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

    Absolutely brilliant! It reminds me a little of some of Le Corbusier’s work in terms of the shapes and light. I love how everything grows out of the walls, like the faucet and dining table. I also love the indoor garden.

  7. coffeepapertrend February 22, 2012 at 10:37 pm #

    Reblogged this on coffee.paper.trend and commented:
    Whoa.

  8. nme16 February 22, 2012 at 11:01 pm #

    This house is amazing! It never ceases to amaze me what human beings can do with their unlimited imaginations

  9. michaelbanak February 23, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

    I want to live there!

  10. shurteac February 24, 2012 at 6:17 pm #

    Crazy. That’s almost exactly like some place I was in in a really vivid dream I had a few years ago. It’s not identical but the shape is pretty much the same, if the colors are different…

  11. lightswimming February 25, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    I just love that mosaic-style window

  12. Nomad Urbanista February 27, 2012 at 6:27 pm #

    Hey amazing blog… very refreshing stuff

  13. pinstripeowl February 28, 2012 at 2:46 pm #

    Oh, lovely! This reminds me of a more glass-based Hundertwasser.

Leave a Reply

